The Rodney Hill Prize In Solid Mechanics

Elsevier Limited has established a prize named The Rodney Hill Prize in Solid Mechanics. This prize, which consists of a plaque and a check for $25,000 (twenty-five thousand US Dollars), is to be awarded in recognition of outstanding research in the field of solid mechanics. The prize is to be awarded every 4 years, to coincide with the quadrennial International Congress of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (ICTAM). The first prize was awarded at ICTAM 2008 in Adelaide and the second will be awarded at the ICTAM 2012 in Beijing.

The conditions for awarding of the prize in 2012 are as follows:

  1. The prize is to be awarded to a single individual (and not shared between two or more). No individual should win the prize more than once.
  2. The research recognised by the award shall normally have been published in one or more papers (possibly, but by no means necessarily, in the Elsevier Journals in Solid Mechanics, see below) during the ten-year period prior to the date of the award (e.g. during the period 2002-2011 inclusive for the prize to be awarded in 2012). The intention is that younger researchers should be as eligible for consideration as those who are more established, and that the work recognised by awarding of the prize should be of great current interest (representing, for example, an emerging field of application of solid mechanics, or a significant breakthrough in an established branch of the subject). Attention may also be paid to the researcher’s effectiveness at communicating ideas.
  3. The recipient of the prize shall deliver a Prize Lecture at ICTAM 2012 as scheduled in the program for that purpose; the award will be presented prior to the lecture.
  4. The lecture shall be published in the Elsevier journal of the awardee’s choosing (as well as in the Congress Proceedings at the awardee’s discretion), and shall be made freely available on the journal website.
  5. The Prize winner shall be selected by a Committee drawn from the research community in solid mechanics. The Selection Committee consists of four members appointed by the IUTAM Bureau and constituted as follows: two chosen by Elsevier Limited; one chosen by the Bureau of IUTAM; and one chosen by the Executive Committee of the Congress Committee (XCCC) of IUTAM.

Invitation of nominations:

  1. A nomination should include a brief curriculum vitae (either narrative or outline in form, but no more than two pages in either case) of the candidate being nominated, a list of his/her publications during the period 2002-2011 with up to 10 of particular distinction being marked by asterisks, and a brief (no more than one page) statement of the case for making the award to the particular nominee. The deadline for such nominations is 1 September 2011.
  2. Nominations not following the foregoing guidelines will be returned to the nominator and will not receive further consideration.
  3. Nominations should be sent to the committee chairman, Viggo Tvergaard, at before 1 September 2011.

The Journals in Solid Mechanics published by Elsevier Ltd

  • Journal of the Mechanics of Physics & Solids
  • International Journal of Solids & Structures
  • Mechanics of Materials
  • European Journal of Mechanics – A (Solids)
  • Engineering Fracture Mechanics
  • International Journal of Plasticity
  • International Journal of Mechanical Sciences
  • International Journal of Fatigue
  • Theoretical & Applied Fracture Mechanics
  • International Journal of Pressure Vessels & Piping
  • Mechanics Research Communications