IUTAM and its Congress

The International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (IUTAM) is an international non-governmental scientific organization belonging to the International Council of Scientific Unions (ICSU), which was formed in 1946 and founded in 1948, with the objectives to form a link between persons and organizations engaged in scientific work in mechanics and related fields, and to promote the development of mechanics, both theoretical and applied, as a scientific discipline.

IUTAM achieves this aim mainly by organizing international meetings to deal with scientific problems. An International Congress on Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (ICTAM), including mini-symposia and pre-nominated sessions, is held every four years. It is organized by the Congress Committee, established by the IUTAM General Assembly.

Additionally, a number of specialized Symposia with invited participants are held every year. These IUTAM Symposia are sometimes held in cooperation with other Unions adhering to the International Council for Science or with the 17 organizations affiliated to IUTAM. At present there are 49 Adhering Organizations, each of them representing scientific activity in the field of mechanics in a country or particular geographical region.

ICTAM 2012 follows twenty-two IUTAM congresses organized all over the world since 1924.

    [table id=3 /]


The Congress, ICTAM 2012, was invited by the Chinese Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (CSTAM) upon the recommendation of the Chinese Theoretical and Applied Mechanics communities. The Congress venue is the China National Convention Center (CNCC). President of ICTAM 2012 is Professor Yilong Bai of the Institute of Mechanics, Chinese Academy of Sciences.

CNCC Location

CNCC Location